Yup, I Read Now


Jeeves and Wooster

iread (red new)I’m taking longer with The Code of the Woosters than I probably should (it’s a little less than 300 pages and mostly dialogue). Usually I would finish a book like this in a day or two, but my mind has been otherwise engaged. The worse part is that it hasn’t been engaged by anything of consequence. I’m about half way through the book and determined to finish it by Tuesday.

Reading The Code of the Woosters has actually proven to be inspirational. Well, in a sense. It inspired me to rent a few DVDs and I’ve been watching episodes of Jeeves and Wooster before going to bed. After finishing the first two discs, I’ve realized two things.

(1) Hugh Laurie’s American accent on House is awesome.

(2) I’m sort of in love with P.G. Wodehouse (mainly because he has some v. favorable things to say on the subject of idleness).

As you might imagine, watching Jeeves and Wooster while reading Jeeves and Wooster has really enhanced my experience with the material. The show is faithful to Wodehouse’s work and Laurie and Stephen Fry are perfection (a small part of my pacing issue has to do with not wanting to leave Bertie and Jeeves).

For those unfamiliar with Jeeves and Wooster, as I was before last week, this is what the back cover blurb says:

Wodehouse’s most famous creations, likeable nitwit Bertie Wooster and his effortlessly superior valet and protector Jeeves reach a kind of apotheosis in The Code of the Woosters, in which Bertie is rescued from his bumbling escapades again and again by the ever-unflappable gentleman’s gentleman Jeeves.

How can you deny a book that has the word “apotheosis” on the back of it? The answer is, you can’t(!)

Full review coming soon…

(The new Lethem comes out on Tuesday so I’ll be wanting to purchase that. But I’m in no rush to read it.)

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

