Yup, I Read Now


Booking Through Thursday

btt2“If you could ask your favorite author (alive or dead) one question…who would you ask and what would that question be?”

You’d think that you’d be able to come up with an answer to this question immediately but that just isn’t the case, is it? I’ve had the opportunity to attend several book readings where authors I adore were standing only a few feet away from me and each time my brain seemed to stop functioning. A couple of weeks ago I was standing beside Nick Hornby and just couldn’t remember how to construct sentences. He actually had to ask me if I wanted to take a picture with him. “C’mon, Amber,” he said. “I’m not here that often.” So this question presupposes that, when face to face with my favorite author, I’d be able to speak, which is unlikely, but I’ll just try and go with it.

I think I’d ask Douglas Adams to write a sentence for me.

A sentence written by the man who said that the meaning of life, the universe, and everything is “42,” is bound to be both poignant, pithy, peculiar, and priceless.